the chess website

The Chess Website

Tag and you will unmask!
Quirky name, real matters
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
cairo 36 ( +1 | -1 )
New ICCF World Champion We are glad to announce that GM Ivar Bern (NOR) has secured first place in CC World Championship 17 Final.

First time ever a Norwegian is World Champion in CC.


More here: ->


trond 9 ( +1 | -1 )
A small correction Ivar Bern is an OTB IM, although his CC title must shurely be GM (or the CC equivalent) :-)

nottop 34 ( +1 | -1 )
Bern Bern is a grandmaster from the iccf. That title is recognized by FIDE. Were he not a grandmaster he would have been awarded the title (I believe the top three in the wc finals are awarded the title - pssibly only the top two). Usually that doesn't matter anyway, because the top two or three almost always have the gm title beforehand.
nottop 37 ( +1 | -1 )
quote from W. Schon W. Schon is a world champion contender - one of the strongest chessplayers in the world - he studied in progress all the games of the championship in progress and was rooting for I. Bern because of his style of play. He congratulated Bern and Denmark and wrote -

"He was the only player who played his games with the heart, courage and creativity of a champion."

Pretty encouraging news is this era of computers and conservative play.

cairo 35 ( +1 | -1 )
Yes really refreshing with the play of Ivar Bern and a fully deserved title to him. He is Norwegian though, just a little correction to nottop Denmark had Jorn Sloth as the 8th World Champion!

drdesoto 33 ( +1 | -1 )
Interview ...

The new world champion refers to CC as: «Advanced chess» – computer-assisted chess - interesting to discuss!

cairo 99 ( +1 | -1 )
Former World Champions in CC No. Dates Champion Country

I 1950-53 Cecil John Seddon Purdy Australia
II 1956-59 Viacheslav V. Ragozin USSR
III 1959-62 Alberic O'Kelly de Galway Belgium
IV 1962-65 Prof. Vladimir Pavlovich Zagorovsky USSR
V 1965-68 Dr Hans Jack Berliner USA
VI 1968-71 Horst Robert Rittner (East) Germany
VII 1972-76 Yakov Borisovich Estrin USSR
VIII 1975-80 Jørn Sloth Denmark
IX 1977-83 Tõnu O. Õim USSR (Estonia)
X 1978-84 Vytas Victor Palciauskas USA
XI 1983-89 Dr Fritz Baumbach (East) Germany
XII 1984-91 Grigory Konstantinovich Sanakoev Russia
XIII 1989-98 Mikhail Markovich Umansky Russia
XIV 1994-2000 Tõnu O. Õim Estonia
XV 1996-2002 Gert Jan Timmerman The Netherlands
XVI 1999-2004 Tunc Hamarat Austria
XVII 2002-2006 Ivar Bern Norway
XVIII 2003-2006 Joop J. van Oosterom The Netherlands